REALTOR® Education » Professional Development Program (PDP) » Credit System
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
New A-B-C Accreditation Model
Learn more about the new PDP:
Questions or Feedback?
Contact your member board or email BCREA's Education Department at [email protected]

Ways to Earn PDP Credits

The Professional Development Program (PDP) accreditation system has been expanded to recognize several new kinds of learning experiences, which REALTORS® know to be of value to their business and their clients. REALTORS® still require 18 credits per two-year licensing cycle.  

Category A - The Mandatory Course - 6 credits 

  • The PDP mandatory course is Legal Update
  • REALTORS® must take the mandatory course once per licensing cycle (6 PDP credits)
  • The PDP mandatory course aligns with the Real Estate Council of British Columbia's Relicensing Education Program (REP) required course (also Legal Update)
Category B - Formal PDP Courses - 6 credits minimum
  • Includes all current BCREA-owned PDP courses
  • Includes external vendor courses that are PDP accredited
  • REALTORS® must take a minimum of 6 PDP credits in Category B
  • REALTORS® can take all 12 remaining credits in Category B, if desired
Category C - Informal PDP Offerings - 6 credits maximum
  • Accreditation category to recognize informal and social learning
  • Will be reviewed and expanded, over time
  • Consists of accredited member board education events and accredited industry events
  • REALTORS® can fulfill a maximum of 6 PDP credits in Category C
  • Is optional – REALTORS® can choose to spend 12 PDP credits in Category B
Click here to learn more about Category C.